Heritage Community Recognition Program and Young Heritage Leaders Program

Each year community volunteers make valuable contributions to heritage conservation across the province by taking on projects to preserve, protect and promote the rich and diverse heritage of our cities, towns, villages, rural areas and natural landscapes.

Through the annual Heritage Community Recognition Program, the Ontario Heritage Trust works with communities to celebrate the achievements of heritage volunteers. With this program, our municipal council has the opportunity to recognize local volunteers for significant achievements to preserve Ontario's built, cultural and natural heritage.

Through the annual Young Heritage Leaders Program, schools and communities can nominate young volunteers for leadership and significant contributions to the preservation, protection and promotion of cultural, natural and built heritage.

The Township of Scugog residents have a significant interest in the preservation of heritage, and place a high value on our heritage resources. These awards, have annually acknowledged, recognized, and rewarded the hard work of over 100 residents in the Township of Scugog and continue to encourage volunteerism to preserve and promote our heritage in Scugog and throughout Ontario

View awards categories here

View Ontario Heritage Trust Award Winners here

To nominate worthy candidates in your community, please contact:
Sandra Frey, Committee Coordinator
Heritage Scugog Advisory Committee
(905) 985-7346 ext. 115 or