Community, personal accounts, and memories filled with adoration for our longest reigning sovereign, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II are emerging across Canada. We would like to hear your Scugog stories.

One memory that we can all be proud of is the long list of Scugog residents that were honoured by the monarch in 2012. To mark the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal was a tangible way for Canada to honour Her Majesty for her service to this country. At the same time, this commemorative medal served to honour significant contributions and achievements by Canadians. During the year of celebrations, 60 000 deserving Canadians were recognized.

Among the recipients, 18 Township of Scugog residents received this national honour.

Recipients included: Paul Arculus, Stewart Bennett, Ivan Dejong, Kathy Dudley, Rodd Foster, Chief Tracy Gauthier, Ellen Greenough, Ted Griffen, Lynn Hodgson, Peter Hvidsten, Ginger Jackson, Joyce Kelly, Marion Lee, Bill McKee, Ilean Pugh, Jamie Ross, Irwin Smith and John Wolters.

We have heard it said many times that volunteerism is the foundation of the Scugog community. We thank those recipients, some who have passed and some who are still serving their community, for shining the diamond jubilee light on our township. If you are one of the recipients, perhaps you would like to share what it meant to you.

There are many other memories we are hoping residents across our community will share from royal visits, photos, or letters that were received over Her Majesty’s 70-year reign.

Please feel free to write to us at or share on social media @TwpofScugog your stories and we will post them on our website as part of our tribute to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.


Media Contact: Lori Bowers, Director Community Services, Township of Scugog
905.985.7346 ext. 132,


Contact Us