Inductees → Nominations → Gallery → News and Events → Support → Donate → 

table with multiple polaroids photos laid out of hall of fame ceremonies and display cases, as well as a black book with Scugog Sports Hall of Fame logo printed on the front, centred

The Scugog Sports Hall of Fame Committee celebrates and preserves the rich sporting history in Scugog and recognizes those individuals who have contributed to our sport legacy. 


Mark your calendars! Join us for the 2023 Scugog Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Thursday, April 20, 2023 at the Scugog Community & Recreation Centre!

2023 Inductees

Rick Finlay

Builder: Port Perry Angels

Bob Carnegie

Individual: Lacrosse

Goreski's 1986 Broomball Team


underlined text '2022 Inductees'

pencil-drawn sketch of Kate Beirness               pencil-drawn sketch of the Roberts Family               pencil-drawn sketch of R.H. Cornish Coaches


The online auction hosted by Gary Hill Auctions was a great success! We raised over $1600.00. Thanks to all who bid on items and who purchased items. Many thanks to the generosity of all auction donors.  

Mark Jeffrey, 1963-2023

Our condolences go out to the family and friends of Mark Jeffrey, 1963-2023.

Mark was inducted into the Scugog Sports Hall of Fame in 2018 as a member of the Colin Ball Midget team as winners of the 1979 OMHA Championship.


Scugog Sports Hall of Fame Update


The Scugog Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the inductees for the 2023 Hall of Fame Induction ceremony. The event takes place on Thursday, April 20, 2023 at the Scugog Community Recreation Centre and is open to the public at no charge. The ceremony starts at 7:00 PM. The Hall is still soliciting for submissions for the Volunteer Recognition award. Scugog sports organizations can submit a one page summary of a current or past volunteer who has, or is, making a significant contribution to their organization. Any E-Mails to make a submission should be sent to Leanne Ashbridge at

Here are this year’s inductees:

Rick Finlay-President of Port Perry Angels

Rick was asked by the club founder, Don Hurst, in 1992, to take on the role of President. He has held that position for 30 years. In addition to his administrative duties, Rick coaches teams, mentors coaches, hosts tournaments and has been instrumental in supporting many of the Angels' players to obtain scholarships to post secondary schools all over the United States.


Bob Carnegie-Lacrosse

Bob played Jr hockey and was part of the Brooklin Combine team in 1956. Playing alongside Port Perry teammates, Bill Cornish and Garnet Warriner the team won the OHA Junior 'D' championship in 1956.

He played lacrosse with the Brooklin Redmen from 1957-1963 winning all Ontario championships in 1957, 1958, and 1959. In 1961-1963 he won the Senior 'A ' OLA(Ont Lacrosse Assoc) championship in all three years. Playing for the Whitby Red Wings in 1960, he won the Ontario and Eastern Canada Jr A championships and finished second in the Canadian Minto Cup in New Westminster, BC.


Goreski's Broomball team-1986 All Ontario Champions

This team was the first in Port Perry to win a provincial championship. Port Perry Broomball Association was active in Port Perry from 1969 to 1999.

Team Members are: Tom Carroll, Tim Cochrane, Charlie Dennis, Dave Dickson, Ray Gibson, Mark Lee, Wayne McGuigan, Ed Olsen, Bill Owen, Tom Powell, Bill St. John, Randy Sullivan, Dan Taylor, Bart Wager and Bruce Woodrow

 The 2022 Scugog Sports Hall of Fame Ceremonies Were a Success!
On Thursday April 21, 2022, the Sports Hall of Fame celebrated 15 years and held the annual Induction Ceremony. The attendance was outstanding following a two year hiatus due to Covid lockdowns. After much uncertainty during the planning, the Province lifted most of the mandates in time for us to proceed with relative normality with the event.   

This year, as Keynote Speaker, Gary Edgar shared his story growing up on Scugog Island, participating in athletics in school, winning the Tom Longboat Regional award, teaching and coaching in Durham Region and contributing as a valued volunteer in his community.

The Hall of Fame recognized the following individuals as Inductees:

Builder: Kate Beirness for her outstanding media career as a sports broadcaster and her founding of the MARK program that empowers young female leaders. The award was sponsored by Debbie Taylor, Royal LePage Frank Real Estate.

Athletes: The Roberts Family- Ian Roberts, Kelly Plitz, Waylon Roberts for their devotion to the sport of equestrianism. Each of them has significant accomplishments in the sport having represented Canada in multiple international competitions. The award was sponsored by Brian Callery, The Callery Group and Village Décor Shoppe.

Team: A team of teachers/coaches who inspired young athletes in the 70s and 80s during their tenures at RH Cornish Public School in Port Perry. This team included: Dave Brownson, Graham Hewitt, John Hinch, Jim Justynski, Reg Philip, Clive Roane, Ken Smart, Rob Smart and Darla Thomas(Sells). The award was sponsored by Doug Scott, Precision Construction. 

Youth Excellence Certificates were also presented to two Scugog youth who are showing great promise in their chosen sports: Alexandra McDougall in Cross Country Running and Justin Matthews in Golf. The award was sponsored by Bob Young, Robert Young Stables. 

For the first time, this year, local sports organizations were asked to submit names of volunteers who have made significant contributions to their organization. The following volunteers were recognized by the Hall of Fame:

Jackie Barr - Scugog Women’s Hockey League
Ian Morrison - Durham Rowing Club
Ann Powell - Port Perry Tennis Club
Dawn Price - Cartwright Soccer
Dave Weller - Port Perry Minor Softball Association

The following organizations celebrating anniversaries were added to the plaque donated by the Lake Scugog Historical Society:
Blackstock Men’s Hockey League - 25 years
Port Perry Snowmobile Club - 50 years
Port Perry MoJacks - 50 years


Check out the ceremony through our event gallery!

Plans are underway for the 2023 Induction Ceremony to be held on Thursday April 20, 2023. Mark your calendar and join us to honour our past, inspire our future and celebrate those who contribute to sports in Scugog.

Help us select the next group of inductees by submitting a nomination for Builder, Athlete or Team.

We are also interested in hearing about Scugog youth (18 and under) who are excelling at their chosen sport to be recognized as part of our Youth Excellence and Achievement Program. Send an email to recreation@scugog with details.

Organizations celebrating milestone anniversaries in 2023 can contact Scugog Township to be included on our Special Anniversary Plaque and to be recognized at the event in April 2023.

Sports organizations are invited to provide a one page submission highlighting a volunteer who is or has significantly contributed to their organization. Email submission to



View All Events →     

April 20, 2023

2023 Induction Ceremony

The 2023 Scugog Sports Hall of Fame ceremonies have been confirmed! The ceremonies will be taking place Thursday, April 20, 2023 at the Scugog Community Recreation Centre.

↑Return to Top